

12 May 2020

MEMORANDUM FOR ALL REGION AND WING COMMANDERS

FROM: CAP/CC

SUBJECT: CAP Driving Privilege Renewals During COVID-19

1. The COVID-19 public health emergency has impacted how states are accommodating driver's license renewals. Considering these changes, we are providing you with guidance on how to renew your CAP driving privileges in accordance with CAPR 77-1, *Operation and Maintenance of Civil Air Patrol Vehicles*.

2. There is a wide range of actions that states are taking in handling the expiration of state driver's licenses. To minimize mission impact, the following guidance is offered for extending or renewing members' CAP driving privileges. Please refer to the attached document for a listing of each states' processes for renewing driver's licenses.

a. If possible, the member will renew their driver's license according to their state's guidance. Once the state license is renewed then CAP driving privileges can be renewed per normal CAPR 77-1 processes.

b. The approach in some states is to extend the driver's license expiration date. In these cases, the member's approving authority, as detailed in CAPR 77-1, can extend the member's CAP driving privileges to the same expiration date as the member's state driver's license.

3. If operating CAP vehicles in other states, members who fall under the category detailed in paragraph 2b above should carry a copy of their state's license renewal guidance with them. This written documentation could be helpful to local law enforcement officials in the event of a traffic stop or mishap.

4. This guidance is effective immediately for all holders of CAP driving privileges and will remain in effect until corresponding state driver's license issuing offices resume normal operations. Comments or questions concerning this guidance should be directed to Gary Schneider, CAP/LG, at <u>gschneider@capnhq.gov</u>.

MARK E. SMITH Major General, CAP National Commander

Attachment: COVID-19 Response State Issued Driver's License & ID Card Extension Guidance

cc:

CAP/CV/XO/CCC/COO/DO/GC/GVR/LG/PA/SE CAP-USAF/CC/CV/DO/DT/JA/LG/SE All CAP Region and Wing CV/CS/DC/DO/DOC/DOH/DOS/DOV/LG/SE

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
Alabama	D/Ls and IDs have a 60-day grace period following expiration date. https://www.alabamainteractive.org/dl_renewal/welcome.action	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	60 days	Add 60 calendar days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Alaska	As of March 30, 2020 all D/Ls that expire during the pandemic period may be extended for six months, ONLY if on-line renewal not possible.For Online Renewalhttp://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/ https://online.dmv.alaska.gov/DMVMailInRenewal/index.aspx	March 30, 2020 through end of pandemic period	Six months	Add six months to D/L or ID expiration date.
Arizona	Driver License renewal requirements are extended six months from the expiration date for all Arizona driver licenses and driving permits that expire between March 1, 2020 and September 1, 2020. For example, if a driver license expires on March 20, 2020, the new expiration date will be September 20, 2020. <u>https://azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-services/driver-license- information/renew-your-license</u>	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	Six months	Add six months to D/L or ID expiration date.
Arkansas	 Arkansas does not process requests online. Drivers will have to go to their local DMV offices. Social distancing is being practiced. Hours of operation are: 0700-1630, 0700-1800. D/L valid until Drivers can make it into their local DMV offices to renew. https://www.dmv.org/ar-arkansas/renew-license.php 	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	Until Further Notice	Enter expiration date of September 30, 2020.
California	Drivers can renew online at: <u>https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/dmv/onlinesvcs</u> Information links: <u>https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/online/dlrbi/dl_top2</u> <u>https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/pubs/newsrel/2020/2020</u> <u>_15</u> <u>https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/wcm/connect/817d879a-e709-45a1-</u> <u>_9503-57622ec808b4/dl410.pdf?MOD=AJPERES</u>	March 1, 2020 through May 31, 2020	Age 70+ - 120 days Below age 70 – 60 days	Add 120 days to D/L or ID expiration date. Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
Colorado	All credentials expiring during our closure, and specifically those ineligible to renew online, have received an automatic 60-day extension to their credential expiration date. Those customers should have received a letter acknowledging this extension at the address we have on file. <u>https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/how-covid-19-closure- affects-driver-license-issuance</u>	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	60 days	Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Connecticut	D/L expired during March 10 – June 8, 2020 are covered by 90 day extension period.	March 10, 2020 through June 8, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Delaware	Late renewals will be waived until further notice. https://www.dmv.de.gov/coronavirus/index.shtml	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	Until further notice.	Enter expiration date of September 30, 2020.
Florida	D/L expire during March 16, 2020 -April 15 2020 will be granted 30-day extension beyond their current expiration date. <u>https://www.flhsmv.gov/covid-19/</u>	March 16, 2020 through April 15, 2020	30 day	Add 30 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Georgia	Most GA driver's licenses and ID cards with an expiration during March 14, 2020, through June 30, 2020, will receive a 120-day extension.ONLINE renewal is also available: https://dds.georgia.gov/covid-19-emergency-services	March 14, 2020, through June 30, 2020	120 day	Add 120 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Hawaii	D/L expiring March 15, 2020, through May 15, 2020, will be considered valid in the state of Hawaii for an additional 90 days after expiration. <u>https://hidot.hawaii.gov/blog/2020/03/24/driving-credentials-and- covid-19-emergency-orders/</u>	March 15, 2020, through May 15, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Idaho	D/L expired between March 1, 2020 and May 31, 2020, to be valid until June 30, 2020. https://itd.idaho.gov/itddmv/#collapse-dmv-covid-19-emergency- extensions-and-expanded-online-renewal-services	March 1, 2020 through May 31, 2020	Valid until June 30th	Enter expiration date of June 30, 2020.

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
Illinois	All Illinois Secretary of State offices and Driver Services facilities are CLOSED to the public through April 30, 2020. Expiration dates for driver's licenses and identification cards will be extended by at least 90 days after Driver Services Facilities reopen.	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
	Online services are available: <u>cyberdriveillinois.com</u>			
Indiana	If renewal cannot be done online, NO late fees for expired licenses from 3/19/20 plus sixty days https://www.in.gov/bmv/4363.htm https://www.in.gov/gov/files/EO_20-05.pdf	March 19, 2020 through May 18, 2020	60 days	Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Iowa	If your driver's license or vehicle registration is expired or expiring you do not need to renew during this emergency, which currently extends to April 30 in Iowa.	March 1, 2020 through April 30, 2020	April 30th	Enter expiration date of April 30, 2020.
	ONLINE renewals available			
	https://www.in.gov/bmv/4363.htm			
	https://iowadot.gov/mvd/driverslicense/renew			
	Temporary Extension For Military PersonnelAn extension of operating privileges may be given tomilitary personnel who cannot return to Iowa to renewtheir driver's license in person and do not meet eligibilityrequirements to renew online.The extension is validuntil six monthsfollowing separation from active duty.Iowa law also provides for an extension to dependents ofactive military personnel. This extension is valid for fiveyears from the expiration date of the license. A copy ofthe dependent's military identification must accompanythe written request.A request for an Extension for Military Service, alongwith the active duty assignment orders, may be emailed,faxed, or mailed to: mymvd@iowadot.us			

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
Kansas	D/L renewals are extended within 60 days of the expiration date, if license expired from March 12, and you were unable to renew your license at a state office due to the state's COVID-19 response.	March 12, 2020 through September 30, 2020	60 days	Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
	Renewals of driver's licenses and vehicle registrations must be completed within 60 days once the governor's			
	order expires.			
	https://www.ksrevenue.org/press/2020/pr03242020.html			
Kentucky	D/L renewals are extended within 90 days of the expiration date. <u>https://drive.ky.gov/driver-licensing/Pages/Drivers-License-and-ID-</u> <u>Card.aspx#drivers-license-renewal</u>	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
	A Driver's License must be renewed in the Circuit Court Clerk's office in the Kentucky county of residence			
	https://drive.ky.gov/Pages/Circuit-clerks.aspx			
	https://drive.ky.gov/driver-licensing/Pages/Drivers-License-and-ID- Card.aspx#drivers-license-renewal			
	A Driver's License must be renewed in the Circuit Court Clerk's office in the Kentucky county of residence <u>https://drive.ky.gov/Pages/Circuit-clerks.aspx</u>			
Louisiana	D/L expiring from March 9 – May 10, 2020 are valid until May 20, 2020	March 9, 2020 through	Through May 20	Enter expiration date of May 20, 2020.
	ONLINE renewal recommended via LA Wallet App https://gov.louisiana.gov/assets/ExecutiveOrders/27-JBE-2020- COVID-19.pdf	May 10, 2020		
Maine	D/L expired after March 18 th will be extended until 30 days following the termination of the state of emergency. ONLINE renewal possible, if eligible https://www.maine.gov/online/bmv/dlr/	March 18, 2020 through September 30, 2020	30 days after State of Emergency ends.	Enter expiration date of September 30, 2020.

State **Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance Expires From/To** Length of Extension **SSM/VO RAPIDS** action D/L are extended to the 30th day after the date by which March 1, 2020 30 days after state of Enter expiration date Maryland of September 30, the state of emergency is terminated. through emergency is September 30, 2020 terminated. 2020. Add 60 days to D/L or Massachusetts D/L expiring between March 1, 2020 and April 30, 2020 March 1, 2020 60 day extension will have a 60-day extension to the current expiration ID expiration date. through date. April 30,2020 Michigan Department of State will not extend Michigan N/A Extensions not Identity documents extensions. They will be waiving fees at this time. shall be neither authorized; waiving expired nor cancelled. fees **ONLINE** renewal available https://www.dmv.org/mi-michigan/renew-license.php D/L expired after March 28 are now extended for two March 28, 2020 Enter expiration date Minnesota Two months after the months after the month the emergency ends. through month of emergency of September 30, September 30, 2020 ends. 2020. Identity documents Driver's License renewal is still active through the Mississippi N/A N/A Mississippi Department of Public Safety Website. shall be neither expired nor cancelled. https://www.ms.gov/dps/license renewal/License Missouri D/L expiration dates of March 1,2020 through April 30, March 1,2020 60 days Add 60 days to D/L or 2020 have been granted an automatic 60 day extension through ID expiration date. April 30, 2020 The governor issued a directive extending the renewal March 1,2020 90 days Add 90 days to D/L or Montana deadline by 90 days for driver licenses expiring in ID expiration date. through March, April, and May 2020. May 31, 2020 ONLINE Renewal also available: https://dojmt.gov/motor-vehicle-division-announces-changes-inresponse-to-covid-19/ Add 30 days to D/L or Governor is extending driver licenses expiring on or after March 1, 2020 30 days after the Nebraska 3/01/2020. The extension will remain in effect until 30 through order is lifted ID expiration date. days after the executive order is lifted. September 30, 2020 ONLINE renewal also available. https://dmv.nebraska.gov/

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
Nevada	The State of Nevada has granted an automatic 90-day extension on any driver's license, vehicle registration or other document that has an expiration date of March 16 through April 30, 2020.ONLINE renewal available: 	March 16, 2020 through April 30, 2020	90 day	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
New Hampshire	 Any driver's license due to expire in the months of March and April can receive a six-month extension. Drivers can make this change over the phone at 603-227- 4020. ONLINE Renewal available: www.nh.gov/dmv 	March 1, 2020 through April 30, 2020	6 months	Add six months to D/L or ID expiration date.
New Jersey	D/L expiring before March through May 30 have been extended by two months. https://www.nj.gov/governor/news/news/562020/20200314a.shtml	March 1, 2020 through May 30 2020	60 days	Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
New Mexico	On line renewal available:mvdonline.comhttp://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/https://eservices.mvd.newmexico.gov/eTapestry/_/The MVD Call Center will remain operational and can bereached at 1-888-683-4636	N/A	N/A	Identity documents shall be neither expired nor cancelled.
New York	D/L with an expiration date of March 1, 2020 or later are extended until further notice. https://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/how-renew-license	March 1, 2020 until further notice	Until further notice	Enter expiration date of September 30, 2020.
North Carolina	D/L renewals can be handled online.https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/license-id/renewal- replacement/Pages/license-renewal.aspxLicenses can be renewed online up to two years after the expiration date	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	Until Further Notice	Enter expiration date of September 30, 2020.

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
North Dakota	Renewals can be done online. dot.nd.gov/driver Gov. signed an executive order stating that as of 01MAR2020, all expired D/L will be honored as valid until offices reopen.	March 1, 2020 until further notice	Until Further Notice	Enter expiration date of September 30, 2020.
Ohio	D/L expiring during the State of Emergency will remain valid until either 90 days after the declared emergency ends. State of Emergency was declared on March 9, 2020.	March 9, 2020 through September 30, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Oklahoma	Please process your request online. https://www.ok.gov/dps/	N/A		Identity documents shall be neither expired nor cancelled.
Oregon	D/L that expire during Oregon's State of Emergency will have a grace period until State of Emergency ends. <u>https://www.oregon.gov/odot/DMV/Pages/COVID_Alert.aspx</u> Online renewal available: https://dmv2u.oregon.gov/eServices/	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	State of Emergency terminates.	Enter expiration date of September 30, 2020.
Pennsylvania	D/L expire from March 16 through April 30, 2020 will be extended until May 31, 2020 Customers may complete various transactions and access multiple resources via: www.dmv.pa.gov. https://www.penndot.gov/pages/coronavirus.aspx Driver and vehicle online services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week and include driver's license renewals	March 16, 2020 through April 30, 2020	May 31st	Enter expiration date of May 31, 2020.

Rhode Island	All Rhode Island drivers' licenses and vehicle	March 1, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or	I
	registrations set to expire between March 1, 2020 and	through		ID expiration date.	I

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
	April 30. 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.	April 30, 2020		
	https://www.dmv.org/ri-rhode-island/renew-license.php http://www.dmv.ri.gov/licenses/renewal/			
South Carolina	D/L, permit or vehicle registration that expires between March 2020 and June 2020: Valid until July 1, 2020. Renewals by mail and on line: http://scdmvonline.com/Driver-Services/Renewals	March 1, 2020 through June 30, 2020	July 1st	Enter expiration date of July 1, 2020.
South Dakota	D/L expired after March 13 through the duration of the emergency declaration plus an additional 90 days. https://dps.sd.gov/driver-licensing/renew-and-duplicate/renew-online https://news.sd.gov/newsitem.aspx?id=26591	March 13,2020 through September 30, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Tennessee	D/L expired from March 12, 2020 – May 18, 2020 will be extended until June 30 If a new resident, 30 day notification waived until June 17. ONLINE Renewals possible https://www.tn.gov/safety/tdoshscovid19.html	March 12, 2020 through May 18, 2020	June 30th	Enter expiration date of June 30, 2020.
Texas	D/L expiring March 13, 2020 and on, granted a waiver for the expiration date for <u>60 days after the Department</u> <u>provides</u> further <u>public notice that normal operations</u> <u>have resumed</u> . You may download a copy of the <u>Verification of Driver License Expiration Extension</u> (PDF) notice. <u>https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/covid-19.htm</u>	March 13, 2020 through September 30, 2020	30 day	Enter expiration date of September 30, 2020.
Utah	NO EXTENSIONS – ONLINE RENEWAL dmv.utah.gov.	N/A	To be determined	Identity documents shall be neither expired nor cancelled.

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
	Most renewal transactions can and should be completed either: <u>online at rex.utah.gov</u> or at an on the spot station <u>(visit spot.utah.gov</u> for locations).			
Vermont	Vermonters are encouraged to complete their renewals on time by using the online or mail option, but extensions will be in place during this time of need.			
	Most driver's licenses can be renewed by mail. Clear instructions on how to do so are included with the renewal forms that Vermonters receive in the mail from the DMV when their licenses are due to expire.			
	<i>For Vermonters who cannot make those options work</i> , 90-day extension for all license and registration renewals <u>https://www.dmv.org/vt-vermont/renew-license.php</u> <u>https://dmv.vermont.gov/press-release/covid-19-90-day-extension-for-renewals</u> <u>https://dmv.vermont.gov/press-release/covid-19-90-day-extension-</u>	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
	for-renewals			
Virginia	D/Ls and IDs set to expire between March 15 and May 15 are extended 60 days from the date of expiration. https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/#covid19.asp	March 15, 2020 through May 15 2020	60 days	Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Washington	D/L expired after March 1 through June 30 are extended 90 days from the date of expiration. ONLINE Renewal available: https://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/renew.html	March 1, 2020 through June 30, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Washington, D.C.	DC DMV has extended the expiration date for all documents expiring March 1 through April 28, including driver licenses and identification cards, until May 15. https://dmv.dc.gov/release/dc-dmv-service-update-march-25-2020	March 1, 2020 through April 28, 2020	May 15th	Enter expiration date of May 15, 2020.
West Virginia	D/L extending the expiration date in March or April 2020 for three months from the date of expiration.	March 1, 2020 through April 30, 2020	90 days	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.

State	Expiring Driver's License & ID Card Guidance	Expires From/To	Length of Extension	SSM/VO RAPIDS action
	Online services may be found by going to:			
	dmv.wv.gov.			
Wisconsin	D/L expired after March 23 during the public health emergency are extended 60 days. https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/find-dmv/default.aspx	March 23, 2020 through September 30,2020	60 days	Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Wyoming	D/L expired during March 15- June 1 will be granted a 90 day extension. http://www.dot.state.wy.us/COVID-19	March 15, 2020 through June 1, 2020	90 day	Add 90 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
American Samoa	https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/emergency/american-samoa- declaration-public-health-emergency-and-state-emergency-covid-19	N/A	N/A	Identity documents shall be neither expired nor cancelled.
Guam	Licenses that expire from 3/16 - 4/15 all late fees will be waived. Licenses that expire prior to 4/15 the late fees will be waived from 3/16 - 4/15. Any other late fees will apply.	March 16, 2020 through April 15, 2020	April 15th	Enter expiration date of April 15, 2020.
Northern Marina Islands	All expired driver's license have a grace period of 30 working days after the expiration date for renewal before a \$20 penalty fee is owed. <u>https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/emergency/commonwealth-northern-</u> maraiana-islands-emergency-declaration-order-2020-04	March 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020	30 days	Add 30 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
Puerto Rico	D/L expired 3/30 - 4/30 extended expiration. Online services are available.	March 30, 2020 through April 30, 2020	60 days	Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.
US Virgin Islands	Closed from 3/23 – 4/6	March 23, 2020 through April 6, 2020	60 days	Add 60 days to D/L or ID expiration date.